30 September 2014

Omotola Jalada Ekeinde, Joke Silva, Taiwo Akinkunmi & Others Receive 2014 National Honours Awards – See Photos

As part of the celebratory activities to mark Nigeria’s 54th Independence anniversary, the 2014 National Honours Awards ceremony held yesterday at the International Conference Center, Abuja.

A total of 313 people were conferred the awards for their outstanding contributions to society, ChannelsTv reports.
Recipients  of the award include Nollywood stars, Joke Silva and Omotola Jalade-Ekeinde, Taiwo Akinkunmi, the 77-year-old designer of the national flag; Solomon Dauda, an Abuja traffic warden; Onuh Isaac Michael, the Chief Steward of the Presidential Villa, Abuja, who served nine Presidents and Heads of State, and many more individuals in the fields of politics, security issues, sports, entertainment, business and the corporate world.

Ekeinde and Silva were both given the MON (Member of the order of the Niger) award.

Dauda and Michael each received a three-bedroom flat, in addition to their MON (Member of the Order of the Niger) awards.

One of the highlights from the event was when Imeh Usuah, a taxi driver, who returned N18 million that a foreigner left in his cab in 2007, received the MFR award (Member of the Order of Federal Republic), and was also given a three-bedroom flat in Abuja, The Citizen reports.

Also, Taiwo Akinkunmi, the 77-year-old designer of the national flag received the OFR (Officer of the Order of the Federal Republic award) and will also receive the salary of a special assistant to the president for the rest of his life.

Below are some photos from the event:

From Left: 2013/2014 Honours Award Winners, Mr Onuh Micheal (Mon) , The Head, Presidential Stewards, Who has Served under nine Different Heads Of States/Presidents; Taxi Driver, Imeh Usuah, who returned N18m (Eighteen Million Naira) Forgotten in his car by a Customer and Mr. Solomon Dauda (Mon), a Traffic Warden, for his acrobatic Agility in controlling Traffic

From Left: National Chairman Of Pdp, Alhaji Adamu Mu’azu; Deputy Senate President, Sen. Ike Ekweremadu; Secretary to The Government Of The Federation, Sen. Anyim Pius Anyim; National Security Adviser, Retired Col. Sambo Dasuki; Minister Of Special Duties, Alhaji Tanimu Turaki; Chairman, National Honours Award Committee, Justice Alfa Belgore; President Goodluck Jonathan; Senate President David Mark; Chairman, PDP Board of Trustees, Chief Tony Anenih and Chief Justice Of Nigeria, Justice Mariam Aloma Mukhtar

Pa Taiwo
Taiwo Akinkunmi, the 77-year-old designer of the national flag receiving the OFR (Officer of the Order of the Federal Republic award) from Pres. Jonathan

President Goodluck Jonathan (L), Presenting A ‘Member Of The Order Of The Federal Republic (Mfr)’ award to Taxi driver, Imeh Usuah

Here’s a list of some of the winners. To see the comprehensive list, click HERE.

Onuh Isaac Michael
Head, Presidential Stewards

Ibrahim Mohammed Mera
Public Servant/Dcg Customs

Peter Dedevbo
Coach Under 20 National Female Football Team

Air Marshal Alex Sabundu Badeh
Chief of Defence Staff

Maj. Gen. Kenneth Minimah
Chief of Army Staff

Rear Admiral Usman Jibrin
chief of naval staff

Air Vice Marshal Adesola Amosu
Chief of Air Staff

Chief Mrs. Nkechi Okemini Mba
National President, National Council Of Women Societies

Alhaji Sulaiman Abba
acting inspector general of police

Hon. Justice Bolarinwa o. Babalakin
Fmr. Supreme Court, Judge

Hon. Justice Abubakar Bashir Wali
Justice Of The Supreme Court, (rtd)

Hon. Justice Ibrahim Tanko Muhammad
Justice Of The Supreme Court

Hon. Justice christopher m. Chukwuma – Eneh
Justice Of The Supreme Court

Hon. Justice Muhammad S. Muntaka Coomassie
Justice Of The Supreme Court

Hon. Justice John Afolabi Fabiyi
Justice Of The Supreme Court

Hon. Justice Olufunlola Oyelola Adekeye
Justice Of The Supreme Court

Mohammed Sambo Dasuki
National security adviser

Bukar Goni Aji
Former Head of Service of the  Federation

Mr. Danladi  I. Kifasi, Oon, Mni
Head of Service of the Federation

No comments:

Post a Comment